Back to All Articles
Executive Order Blocks Entry to Certain Foreign Nationals

On January 27, 2017, President Trump signed an Executive Order restricting entry, visa issuance, screening procedures, and refugee admissions. The order bars entry to:

  • refugees from anywhere in the world for 120 days and from Syria indefinitely.
  • foreign nationals from seven designated countries: Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen for at least 120 days.
    • Anyone who holds a passport from a designated country is being considered as being “from” the designated country. This includes dual citizens who hold passports from a designated country, as well as another country not included on the restricted list.

Despite temporary orders from some federal courts around the country that limit the implementation of parts of the Executive Order, at this time foreign nationals from the designated countries should refrain from traveling outside of the United States or do so with the understanding that they may be unable to return. As there is no definition of who is considered to be “from” one of the designated countries, those who were born in such countries and even those who have only traveled to those countries may also be affected.┬áPlease consult an attorney if you think the order may impact your travel.

Tagged With
Ban, Executive Order, immigration, Refugees, Travel Restriction, Trump